Tolkien Week: Day 2

Party Banner Party Lights 2

Questions Time!

I love Tolkien-related questionnaires. They’re always so difficult to respond and to pinpoint a specific character of text to like; but they’re fun and a great way to learn about yourself and your love for Middle-earth.

So, in honour of the second day of Tolkien Week, here’s a nice little set of questions put forward by fellow blogger, Hamlette on her blog.

Frodo and Sam

1. What draws you to Tolkien’s stories? (The characters, the quests, the themes, the worlds, etc.)

For me, it’s always been the vast history of the world. The intricate detail of names, events and timelines. The capability of cross-referencing a date from a particular book, with a particular character or history in another book. There’s a sense of realism in that depth and the more you mine for information, the more it seems you discover.

2. What was the first Middle Earth book you read and/or movie you saw? What did you think of it?

I was introduced to Middle-earth via The Fellowship of the Ring (early in 2002). I wasn’t keen on fantasy, but this instantly felt different and such an extraordinary experience. From then on I was hooked in seeing the outcome of the story in the other two films. Having fallen in love with The Lord of the Rings, I decided to explore the books and so started fairly easy by tackling The Silmarillion (little did I know …).

You can read in more detail my discovery of Middle-earth here.

3. Name three of your favorite characters and tell us why you like them.

  • Samwise Gamgee – No Sam, no Frodo, no destruction of the Ring.
  • Fingolfin – That sense of nobility, wisdom, courage and perseverance in the Elf king made a big impression on me.
  • Faramir (both film and book versions) – Same reasons for Fingolfin

4. Are there any secondary characters you think deserve more attention?

Arwen’s role in the books, though essential, felt somewhat underwhelming. The films seemed to remedy that rather well, me thinks.

5. What Middle Earth character do you relate to the most?

None. I feel I can relate to all characters in some way or other; except, perhaps, Sauron and Morgoth.

6. If you could ask Professor Tolkien one Middle Earth-related question, what would you like to ask him?

“Could you write more?”

7. Are there any pieces of Middle Earth merchandise you would particularly like to own, but don’t?

I’ve already stated my keen interest in the Red Book of Westmarch, but I also wouldn’t mind a nice ship from Círdan’s arsenal 🙂

Grey Havens

8. What battle would you absolutely not want to be part of?

The Battle of Azanulbizar. Skirmishes beneath the Moria? Not so keen …

9. Would you rather eat a meal at the Rivendell or Bag End?

Bag End. I’m sure Rivendell can cook up a nice dish; but as Dwalin so accurately stated: “Where’s the meat?”

10. List up to ten of your favorite lines/quotes from the books or movies.

  • “Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.”
  • “You have been chosen, and you must therefore use such strength and heart and wits as you have.”
  • “Go not to the Elves for counsel, for they will say both no and yes.”
  • “Short cuts make delays, but inns make longer ones.”
  • “I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.”

Have a go yourselves and share with us!

Also check out Hamlette’s awesome giveaways section here.

Till tomorrow! 😉

Copyright of images belongs to New Line Cinema

9 thoughts on “Tolkien Week: Day 2

  1. The history. Oh Valar yes that is so amazing and deep and fascinating–my friend and I randomly discovered that Eomer and Eowyn became cousins-in-law after marrying Lothiriel and Faramir (I hadn’t realized those two were cousins). And the maps, and the way the story starts at the beginning of time and we get hints of the end of time…*takes deep breath* Sorry. I get really excited about the complexity of Middle Earth sometimes. xD

  2. Tolkien created the richest, most vibrant world I could imagine. I never cease to be amazed by how real it feels!

    Good call on Arwen — she’s barely present in the books, but supposed to be so important. Jackson did a great job with making her more integral, even if he did have to cut out Glorfindel to do so. You can’t just say to a movie audience, “she is important,” like you can with a book audience.

    Thanks for joining the party!

    1. Well, maybe the whole dying theory in ROTK was a bit of a stretch. It was pain obvious that the writers were straining to keep the Arwen relevant to the story, but they could never quite get their finger on it. Goes to prove how PJ ultimately fails when he has to make stuff up.

    1. I have a mixture of books both hardback and paperback, though my favourites are the pocket edition of The Lord of the Rings (Houghton Mifflin) and the Children of Hurin/The Fall of Arthur hardback editions. Exquisite!

Leave a comment