A toast to the Professor …

Tolkien (BBC)

In what has become a yearly tradition for Tolkien fans, today is the day when readers – who have been captivated by the magic of Middle-earth and the Professor’s numerous other works – raise a glass to honour the birth of the author.

The beverage need not be alcoholic, and the time of the toast usually takes place at 9pm (your local time).

Let us together remember the significance of Tolkien in our lives and bless the day he was born.

What does Tolkien mean to you? Let us know in the comments below…

For me, the discovery of this remarkable world-builder and weaver of dreams was the beginning of everything in my life as an adolescent; and has shaped who I am now as an adult.

In the meantime, here’s to “The Professor.”

17 thoughts on “A toast to the Professor …

  1. To the Professor indeed! Funny though, you chose the exact same picture that I did for my Tolkien Toast post. http://musingsofatolkienist.blogspot.com/2015/01/happy-birthday-tolkien.html I love that picture of Tolkien. I think we tend to think of him as a serious, academic, stoic, kind of person (as indeed he was), but he was very fond of good company, “hanging out with friends” as someone might say today, and more cheerful than we might expect. Pictures of him smiling like this are always fun to see and reminds you of that different side of his character, almost looks like a Hobbit! 🙂

  2. Here’s to the professor! I have always been an avid fantasy reader, and Tolkien was the one who really opened up a whole new world to me and ignited a passion for beautiful writing. I never tire of losing myself in his world and it seems no matter how many times I read his writings I always discover something new.

  3. Here’s to the professor! Had he not created Middle Earth, I know I would not be writing today. His world inspired both my art and writing, my two favorite things on Earth. Having read his work has also gained me friends, some now very close to my heart. Here’s to one epic fantasy writer!

  4. . . .what Tolkien meant to me as a kid? The realization that fantasy, magic, etc., was serious stuff; other fantasy stuff I had been exposed to, for example C.S. Lewis and Narnia, Lloyd Alexander and Prydain did not have the full weight of history and linguistics behind them—as a kid, I could feel the difference in texture of those works as compared to Tolkien; and hopefully, I’ll be able to add a piece of this same kind of heft to the fantasy work I’m planning. Happy Birthday, Tolkien!!!

  5. Sorry for the tardiness, but Here’s to the Professor!!! A true inspiration and an example of patience in art and wisdom in life! 🙂

Leave a comment