Beren and Lúthien: New Tolkien book in 2017!

Beren and Luthien book cover.jpgGreat news to all Tolkien fans!

As I’m sure you’ve all heard by now, the second of the Tolkien’s “Great Tales” will find itself on shelves as a standalone publication in May 2017, HarperCollins announced.

The book, which will compile together all known versions of the story, will be edited by Christopher Tolkien and illustrated by Alan Lee. Its publication will coincide with the 10th anniversary since the publication of The Children of Húrin.

The words “new” might be somewhat deceiving though as, somewhat similar to The Children of Húrin, this publication will feature existent material that is spread across the entire The History of Middle-earth series, and it is unclear whether any new text will be included.

This is fantastic news and I personally cannot wait to get my hands on a copy. Ever since purchasing The Children of Húrin, I wondered when we would get to see the same treatment for Beren and Lúthien and The Fall of Gondolin.

However, as much as I’m looking forward to this publication, I’m equally wary of the price tag and the actual content. The beauty of the story itself is indisputable, and Christopher Tolkien’s commentaries and analysis are a work of art in themselves, but I cannot help wonder, with the publication of the Lay of Aotrou and Itroun in November (including several other recent publications of “unfinished” and “incomplete” works), whether the Tolkien Estate is following in the same line of treatment as was done to a recent film trilogy based on a 300-page book.

Then again, there’s always a brand new set of illustrations from Alan Lee …

More info available at this link.

16 thoughts on “Beren and Lúthien: New Tolkien book in 2017!

  1. This is indeed great news, I’m looking forward to it even if there isn’t new text it will be nice to have the story within its own book; the Alan Lee illustrations are the icing on the cake!

  2. I’m looking forward to it. I did think that The Children of Hurin was worth the price of admission. It was a MUCH more fleshed-out story than what we read in the Silmarillion. If this is in keeping with its older sibling, that’s a good thing. And I say “Yeah, verily!” to a similar treatment of the Fall of Gondolin.

  3. I am especially excited about Alan Lee’s illustrations! 🙂 I actually had no idea of this book until now, thank you! I only knew of Lay of Aotrou and Itroun coming out soon.

  4. yeah, I wonder if the Tolkien family’s issue isn’t the fact that someone is exploiting all that material so much as the fact that they are not the ones to be exploiting it. But whatever.

  5. I hope Christopher Tolkien does The Fall of Gondolin next. The version in Book of Lost Tales 2 is one of my favorite Middle Earth stories.

  6. So I heard all about it
    Her voice’s so clear
    She’s woven both themes in there
    Moved me to tears
    The world shall hear this sad song
    Song of sorrow song of grief
    Can’t change the way of his kind
    Can’t change the way of her kind

Leave a Reply

