Epic Cinematography Trailer – The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings

Defining the “Epic” of these Trilogies

I’ve been meaning to do a video of great shots from both The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings for quite some time now.

Finally, you can see the result in the video below.

It is a collection of shots where environments and characters are basically looking epic. It is by no means an exposition of all the scenes and characters; merely a selection.

At the same time, it is also a brief tribute to Andrew Lesnie’s astonishing cinematography throughout these 6 films.

Please enjoy 🙂

16 thoughts on “Epic Cinematography Trailer – The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings

  1. Reblogged this on swordwhale and commented:
    Epic is not just great vast action shots. As this little trailer shows, what makes LOT and the Hobbit (books and films) fly is a vast epic backdrop, a well developed landscape with all its intricacies and cultures.. and those little character moments, those people we can relate to, those kinds of folks we already know, the archetypes we recognize.

  2. This is beautiful, and the exact kind of thing that makes me cry! I have a habit of watching the movie trailers over and over and crying. So many of my favorite shots–showing off the gorgeous landscape, and epic music paired with Tolkien always makes me cry. 🙂 Thank you for putting this together! Sometimes I wish that I could use YouTube videos as my desktop background.

    • Aww thanks Carlynn, glad you enjoyed it! I’ve been wanting to put Middle-earth shots to that particular music for a while now. Feels satisfying to finally be able to do that 🙂

    • I cry too. For me a lot of is the music. Watching without sound is enjoyable but I don’t have the same reaction.

  3. Nicely done! Though, I was a little bit surprise to see so many “character shots” instead of some of the sweeping vistas and panoramas from the hexology (is that word? 😉 ). In particular, the dizzying shots of Orthanc in FoTR (and RotK EE) and the Nazgul’s descent upon Minas Tirith from the air. Smaug’s first descent upon Lake-town in BotFA is also a personal favorite of mine as well as some of the Goblin-town shots (as much as I disliked the length gratuitous nature of that sequence).

    • Hi Andrew, as already stated – it was impossible to try and put it all the shots into a 3-minute video. This is only a selection. And yes, hexology (or at least, hexalogy) seems to be a word 😉

      • For me, I think part of what makes Tolkien so epic is the combination of epic history and vista with wonderful characters (e.g. Hobbits are epic too). It is the interweaving of vista and personal intimacy that I find so mesmerising.

      • I know! Every frame is like a painting… nearly any of them could be hung on a wall or posted as a wallpaper.

        Yes, I meant hexalogy. It’s a word not often used, but hopefully it will seep into the common vernacular of Middle-earth fans… that and “Middle-earth Saga.” Saying both “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings” gets really redundant and cumbersome in conversation. 😉

        Anyhow, great job with the video!

  4. Lesnie’s cinematography really is one of the foremost things that made love these movies, along with Tolkien’s story, Jackson’s direction, the acting, and Weta’s work. Thanks for making this EPIC video dude. As for the Silmarillion, I’ve decided to just read it in my own time, slowly (chapters upon chapters of character names, place names, and millenia of history is pretty hard to take in. Plus, I’m in another one of my Superman phases (which I have to let fizzle out, before I could even fully focus on Legendarium again), so I won’t be able to join in on the discussions.
    Well, it was great to see your compilation, mellon! Keep up the good work! 🙂
    Well, time to get back to drawing Kryptonian wetsuits!

  5. Beautifully done! I think so many people overlook the cinematography that is done in most movies and they forget/not even know of all the work put into it. Every decision made to give great stories life on the big screen 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  6. Thank you! You did a wonderful job. I loved it.

    Now time to give your fans part 2 in a hopefully long series. I’d like to see Helms Deep, especially Haldir and elves drawing and firing at the battlements. Also Faramir and company riding to (almost certain) death. Love the panoramic scenes!

    I’m full of opinions but no skill, so relying on seeing more of your work. You have me looking forward to a six extended movie marathon this fall.

Leave a Reply

