“Death is just another path …” Tolkien 1892-1973

JRR TolkienYesterday, September 2nd, marked the 41st anniversary since J.R.R. Tolkien passed away.

It most certainly would have been a sad day for friends and family to learn the news; but an even greater sorrow spread across the literary world.

The master fantasy creator, who left behind a rich and blooming contribution to English Literature, no doubt was mourned by dedicated readers who had been touched and welcomed by the magical qualities of Middle-earth.

I have had the honour and privilege of visiting his (and Edith’s) final resting place (A Journey to Oxford); an event that puts things into perspective, and makes one realize once again how this author’s words keep on resonating till today.

J.R.R. Tolkien may no longer be physically present in our world, but thanks to the books and his legacy, he will live on for years to come.

Thank you Professor …

 

5 thoughts on ““Death is just another path …” Tolkien 1892-1973

  1. Amazing how many lives he has impacted. I wonder what it is about Middle Earth I hunger for, and perhaps, others too. It is not as though it did not have its own troubles, and yet, it has me transfixed. The power of story runs strong in his legacy; I wonder why. He certainly touched something in many people including me.

    • Bob, I think you’ve touched on a complex matter – but at the same time, a very simply one.

      I myself cannot explain the allure of Middle-earth, but I like to think that part of the reason is the realistic qualities of it and the attention to detail that has me wanting to go through the stories over again.

      • The qualities you mention are certainly ones that I enjoy; for example, the languages, culture and peoples, the detailed progression of the journey of the ring to Mordor with realistic durations and references to the stages of the moon, etc. And yet, in theory, it could be a detailed, realistic story I was not interested in. There is an ‘other’ quality to his world, haunting in its brutality (e.g. 1st age) and yet wonderful, leaving an after taste in me longing for more. Oh, that I could retire to Rivendel, talk with Elrond, Gandalf and Bilbo, listen to songs by the fire, and feast with friends in the large hall. I can remember finishing LOTR for the first time. I wanted to take ship and sail west but I had missed the last boat: sigh!

Leave a Reply

