Behold the fury of Smaug!

Smaug BOFTA Poster

Yes, Peter Jackson has just released a teaser poster for The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

And?

Well, have a look for yourself here (click on it to enlarge) …

The Battle of the Five Armies Poster (Comic Con)

Back from the overwhelming sense of awe?

Did you notice how majestic, scary and rather huge, Smaug is? And you must have noticed the defiant figure standing in the middle of the dragon’s wrath …

Now I’m guessing we’ll be getting an updated version of this poster. Considering it’s got the text “Comic Con”, it’s safe to assume that this is part of the promotional strategy for next Saturday’s Hobbit panel.

It might also mean that the teaser trailer is very close. Perhaps during Saturday’s panel itself …

However, for now, we’ve got this gorgeous poster to vent our cravings on.

What are your thoughts on it?

And don’t worry, if you can’t write it down we’ll assume you’re too bewildered to type anything. We’ll understand πŸ˜‰

18 thoughts on “Behold the fury of Smaug!

  1. It’s such an incredible gesture toward Bard and the significant role he plays in the story. I just love the imagery here. Im so jealous I can’t be at Comic Con!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I can’t get excited about the third Hobbit movie. I want to, but they’ve lost me with a lot of the plot changes, so that I don’t really care about the characters as much (except Bilbo, who seems to have been left in tact). I’m not someone who demands things match the book perfectly (I was actually ok with the changes to Faramir in the LotR films), but the changes are so hastily done that I’m left with no real connection to anyone – I find disgruntled half crazed Thorin more relatable than the tortured pseudo-aragorn Thorin from the film.

    That was a lot grumpier than I intended, I’m so sorry! I hate to sully a positive post!

    • Hey Michelle, I’m sorry to hear your opinions about this.

      I can understand your gripes towards certain changes (even I twitch during certain moments). However, the more I see these new films, the more I learn to understand and appreciate them; and love them.

      I certainly cannot ignore some of the seemingly irrelevant and pointless changes made to the story, but I think I’ve come to terms with this being an adaptation rather than a page-to-scene rendition.

      There’s still 4 and a half months to go until the third film’s release. I might just manage to convince you otherwise! πŸ˜‰

      *challenge accepted*

  3. LOVE the poster–Bard’s my favorite character from the films so I was really excited to see him featured. Can’t wait for the movie and hope a trailer will be coming soon!

    • Well said! I’ve been fascinated by Luke Evan’s portrayal of Bard ever since he was cast. He certainly didn’t disappoint in The Desolation of Smaug, and I’m quite certain he’s going to top his performance with this one πŸ™‚

  4. I re-watched the first two Hobbit movies this week, and my anticipation for the third is so high! The poster’s great, but I can’t wait to see a teaser trailer!
    I really find An Unexpected Journey–the visuals, heart, and soul of it–to be as stunning, beautiful, and moving as the original trilogy. I fully expect Battle of the Five Armies to rip our hearts out (in a good way).

    • Hey Sarah! Thanks for your feedback πŸ™‚

      Spot-on comment. Although many criticize An Unexpected Journey for – among other reasons – its “delay” in starting the adventure, I simply relish the first 40 minutes (the Unexpected Party scene and seeing Bag-End are just exquisite).

      I can’t get enough of Film 1 – no matter how many times I see it. And the same thing with The Desolation of Smaug – though I have yet to catch-up with the number of viewings to be on the same level with AUJ πŸ˜€

  5. It’s a fantastic poster, but story- wise, I think it’s rather irrelevant. The Hobbit is and always will be a hobbit- centred movie, and Bilbo should be the centre- figure. But that doesn’t detract from the fact that this poster is such a tease, and I look forward to future posters and of course, the trailers!! πŸ™‚

    • Actually, I was also expecting another Bilbo-centered teaser poster, as with the previous two installments. However, I have a feeling that we’ll soon be seeing another poster release.

      For some reason, this one seems to be targeted mainly for the Comic-Con event; and whether we’ll get a different one or not, is yet to be seen.

      That said, this one is still plastered om my desktop πŸ™‚

  6. I think it’s pretty telling that Bard is standing alone, bow in hand, without the Dwarven windlance to kill Smaug. I’m almost hopeful that the windlance is a red herring set up to subvert expectations; Bard will find the tower smashed by the dragon or the device rusted beyond all use, and fires the black arrow in his longbow in a last ditch attempt.

Leave a Reply

