We have reached 500+ followers! (…’Thank You’ poem attached)

500 Followers header

Well what can I say? I’ve thanked all of you kind people when I reached the 200+ mark (just over 3 months ago). But it seems I can’t thank you enough (so clichéd, I know).

But truth be told, I’m very grateful for all your support – no matter how little it is.

And in honour of such a legendary moment, here’s a little poem I came up with for such an occasion …

“Oh dear!” I hear you complain. Fear not! 

I’m no poet, but I figured – what the heck!

Considering my posts on this blog are 99.9% prose form, I thought I’d give it a go and write a nice sonnet to all you followers out there.

Humph, hmmm!

 

The Thank you Poem

Oh cheerful online folk of  bold readers,

I give my utmost thanks unto you all!

Such joy towards the meeting of dreamers,

much more there is to write and read and scrawl!

 Bill Shakespeare

Five hundred followers is tricky feat,

with steady patience such a counter soared.

A rising number pretty high and neat,

until I knew this WordPress blog had scored!

 

Alas for lack of further gratitude,

as wall lies strong between us Tolkienists.

But such is our fandom attitude,

a worthy lot of noble optimists!

 

The end of this sonnet is now long due,

I raise my glass and toast a huge thank you!

– James, ‘A Tolkienist’s Perspective’

Straight to the history books from here – I can already see it. 😀

Anyway, thank you once again to all you followers on WordPress, Twitter, YouTube subscribers, and especially those individuals who come here week after week (or occasionally) and press that little “Like” button, or simply comment on a particular post.

It really means a lot to me and I try as much as possible to reply to each response.

I hope you’ll enjoy my future posts/videos and please keep up your wonderful interaction with this blog. Also, remember to help spread the word! 🙂

Now, when shall we reach a 1000? 😉

12 thoughts on “We have reached 500+ followers! (…’Thank You’ poem attached)

  1. Congratulations James, it seems we are both moving up in the bloggersphere together. I am happy that you here with me on this amazing journey and I look forward to your next milestone. Keep up the great work.

  2. Congrats! And my hat goes off for staying true to sonnet rules. Well done on both the blog and the poem.

  3. LOL, I love that couplet at the end, and you shall reach 1K as quickly as possible if I have anything to say about it.

    I actually came over here to snag your first video, but this is sweet! I love this post, all of it.

    There’s quite a gaggle of us reaching 500 at the moment. I got to 500 last week, a blogger I know did it the week before and we made jokes on twitter about it not being a race. There’s another blogger I know who reached it yesterday or the day before, and I’m trying to figure out who it is so I can put them in a roundup.

    Anyway, good times. Angels getting their wings and such.

    Keep blogging, please.

    • Haha! Many thanks 🙂 Indeed, 500 feels like I’ve achieved everything in life – but I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s thought that way. And thanks so much for sharing and linking to this blog.

      Posting of videos should begin soon 😉

Leave a Reply

