Brian Cox for the Fall of Arthur!

… or “Whatever happened to ‘The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún’ audiobook?”

I confess that I have yet to acquire an audiobook for any of the Tolkien books currently available.

I’d like to listen to Rob Inglis’ narration for The Lord of the Rings, Martin Shaw’s recording for The Silmarillion and even Christopher Lee’s reading of The Children of Húrin.

Yet, back in 2009, when promotion was being made for the release of The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún, we got this promotional video on YouTube – clearly making reference to actor Brian Cox’s work on the forthcoming audiobook.

Just have a listen to some of his recordings here …

Absolutely astonishing.

But the audiobook seems never to have been released.

Having Tolkien’s words retold with a heavy Scottish accent and with the interpretation and performance of Cox, is something I sorely miss. It’s not Middle-earth, but Norse sagas are as alluring as the author’s own fantasy world.

So where in the world is the audiobook to this work? Perhaps a lack of demand may have prevented the publishers/distributors, from releasing it.

A sad thing no doubt …

Which brings me to my next issue …

Even more beautiful than any of the Sigurd and Gudrún verses, is Tolkien’s Fall of Arthur. Yes, I’ve become obsessed with it (!) and I’d love to see an audiobook being developed for this work. 🙂

Considering he didn’t get a chance to fully display his prowess in the previous publication, I can totally see Brian Cox coming back to the project and bring to life an interpretation of the Arthurian poem.

Any chance this post could reach the ears of the Tolkien Estate and Harper Collins? 😉

If you’re like me and want these audiobooks now, help spread the word!

10 thoughts on “Brian Cox for the Fall of Arthur!

  1. Very interesting indeed. Perhaps it will be released in the future?

    Speaking of audiobooks and such, you should definitely look into getting the J.R.R. Tolkien Audio Collection (if you haven’t already). The first two discs include old recordings of Tolkien reading excerpts from The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and The Adventures of Tom Bombadil. It’s truly fascinating to hear the Professor read his own stories! The last two discs include 3 chapters from the Silmarillion (Of Beren and Luthien, Of the Darkening of Valinor, and Of the Flight of the Noldor, all slightly abridged) read by Christopher Tolkien.

  2. WHAT!? You – the Tolkienist – don’t have Rob Inglis’ recordings of the LOTR? Whoa. I’m stunned. I’ve been listening to it recently (just finished the Battle of the Pelennor Fields yesterday), and I’m completely smitten. Rob Ignlis is an absolute master! Listening to him read the stories we love so well will absolutely transform them in your mind (in the best possible way). I would urge you and all your readers to do what I did: Buy the books on the Kindle store, and add the audiobook (via Amazon’s Whispersync / Audible cooperation) to listen to when you can’t read it (or just because you want to – it’s amazing!). If memory serves, I spent just over $60 getting all three Kindle books and the audiobooks to match. That’s the biggest value in the world (or Middle Earth!). 😀

    • Wow Casey, you’ve managed to panic me into getting my own copy! 🙂

      Yes – me – not owning Rob Inglis’ recordings and all. I’ve heard snippets of his narration from the LOTR DVD features but never actually got around to listening to the whole thing.

      After reading your comment, I may just well do that – and expect a post about it when I do 😉

Leave a Reply

