Pack your gear and sharpen your swords … Smaug is coming!

Smaug

Beorn, Mirkwood, Spiders, Thranduil, Dol Guldur, Lake-Town, Bard, Erebor … Smaug.

There’s simply an embarrassment of riches coming up within the next week and expectation couldn’t be higher.

Lately I’ve been concentrating on posting stuff relevant to ‘The Hobbit’ films in anticipation of the second installment’s release.

Naturally, once the hype dies down a little (if it ever does! 🙂 ), I’ll drift off into the more scholarly-Tolkien bits I’ve been planning for months.

In the meantime, let’s all divulge in a bit of ‘The Desolation of Smaug’. 🙂

– The wait is over!

It’s been a pretty hectic and exciting week for Hobbit-fans. Not only did we get a live event of the worldwide premiere in LA (December, 2nd), but WarnerBros have also been releasing clips from the second film just to tease us.

I’m openly declaring that I have avoided seeing any of these aforementioned clips, refrained from listening to the 90-second previews from the soundtrack and avoided any early-reviews of the film on Twitter.

Why?

Because I don’t want to be influenced by other people’s opinions before I experience the film for myself; nor end up seeing half of it “scattered” as different online clips or music tracks. I want a constant and flowing viewing experience from start to finish, thank you very much …

Speaking of updates, today, we’ve also got ourselves a new video diary which explores the cast and crew’s frantic pick-ups and build-up to release.

If you haven’t seen it yet, do so now! (Fair warning: there’s a quick shot of Smaug’s head at one point. So in case you want to be completely spoiler-proof, I’d avoid the 8:06-8:14 time-frame.)

– Expect a review on the 13th December

I’m planning on seeing ‘The Desolation of Smaug’ early Friday morning, in the hopes of giving you folks a spoiler-free, and quick review of the film by approximately 3pm CET (or 2pm GMT; 9am EST; 6am PT).

I simply cannot wait anymore … 8 days seem almost impossible to overcome!

When (and how) are you folks planning on seeing film 2 of ‘The Hobbit’ trilogy? Leave your comments below.

Be seeing you! 😉

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Pack your gear and sharpen your swords … Smaug is coming!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s