Luke Evans’ Bard: My Man Crush!

Bard header

I feel absolutely no shame or fear in openly declaring my sincere admiration towards Luke Evans’ portrayal of the Bowman in ‘The Desolation of Smaug’.

There, I said it.

A rather odd article perhaps, but I just can’t get over  the coolness that is Bard, as seen in the trailers that have been released so far.

But first things first.

We all have yet to see the film and one certainly cannot jump to conclusions, but I’ve got a very good feeling about this character …

It all began when the studios first released an official picture of Bard – and without even noticing the Will Turner connection, my first impressions were positive.Bard 1

Although I always considered Bard boasting a bigger beard (lots of b’s there), here was a younger-looking Bowman who still felt perfectly suitable for the role.

To be honest, I have only seen a handful of films by Luke Evans, so far – the most recent being ‘The Three Musketeers’ (2011). I enjoyed Evans’ performance as Aramis – knowing perfectly well that he would be playing Bard within the next two years.

The feeling of admiration grew with the release of the trailers – with Evans seemingly giving his utmost best to project the motivations of this character.

It’s really difficult to explain in words, but prior to seeing Bard visualized on screen, my most anticipated sequence in ‘The Desolation of Smaug’ was “Flies and Spiders”. Now, having seen the main trailer and sneak peek, I simply cannot wait to see the character interact within the Lake-town environment …

Bard 3

There’s clearly a powerful force behind his performance and one can sense the determination on Evans’ part to present the audience with an excellent portrayal of the Bowman.

Kudos to Peter Jackson and Co. for significantly expanding his role, as compared to the book.

Bard 4In every shot he is in – be it a silhouette outline of the archer, an angered and concerned citizen, or a caring father – Luke Evans shines amidst the dark-atmosphere of the narrative.

And what shall we say of him retelling the propechy of the King’s return in the sneak peek? From a hopeful and cheering version in the novel, Evans delivers a strong, bone-chilling rendition to accompany the tone and visuals of the shots.

Simply fantastic.

Come December, apart from anticipating the revelations of Film 2, I’ll be looking forward to seeing Luke Evans grace the screen with a stupendous performance! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Luke Evans’ Bard: My Man Crush!

  1. Hard to beat Bard in the sympathy department isn’t it? I already see members of Thorin’s rabid army being torn over who they love by the end of DOS.

  2. […] Luke Evans’ Bard: My Man Crush! (atolkienistperspective.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

