A moment to reflect …

Dos Header

Whilst I’m currently knee-deep (or elbow-deep?) in writing the next part of my review on ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’, I think it is essential to pause for a moment and allow time to consider what has just happened over the past two days in ‘The Hobbit’ Trilogy camp …

After the wonderful worldwide fan event, which saw the live correspondence between members of the cast, Peter Jackson and costumed-up fans (along with thousands online – me included), not only were we given a new production diary to look at (click here), but also a new trailer for ‘The Desolation of Smaug’ (cleverly worded as a “sneak peek”).

Suffice to say, I was floored with the awesomeness of the footage – the dark, brooding words of Bard that introduce the piece, to the fast paced, emotionally-driven sequences.

I have to say that this was the first time since the first teaser for ‘An Unexpected Journey’, to leave me completely speechless and filled with such burning anticipation – making life seem momentarily unfair when it came to counting the days, weeks and months that remained until the film’s release.

Thankfully, in just over a month, we can satisfy our curiosity and bask in the glory that certainly emanates from the second installment … woohooo! (sorry, I let myself go a bit loony there :D).

So, if you have not yet seen this “sneak peek”, I urge you to do so here:

Meanwhile, I’m hoping to be able to post the next review section sometime late next week.

Be seeing you! ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “A moment to reflect …

  1. Agreed. The original unveiling of the Misty Mountain song trailer back in, what was it? Dec. 2011 was pure magic. What followed in 2012 were cheap tricks! This feels more like the original, where the trailer is a work of art in itself, not just a choppy edit.

  2. The footage we were shown at the live fan event, from DoS, was also… amazing. Inspiring. I am absolutely bouncing on the balls of my feet over here, waiting for the movie to open. :} So, you know, just another confirmation. (I drove from Michigan to NYC to attend, and I’m glad I did. lol Worth it!!)

  3. People get mad because the movie differs from the book but I personally like Radaghast. His rabbit sled is a bit over the top but he’s good people.

    And how cool would it be if we got some Beorn action before the final war?

    As long as Legolas and Tauriel don’t go off on some antiquated journey of love, I don’t see how this movie won’t be awesome

    • and to clarify, when i say “Beorn action”…I don’t mean we get to see his house and watch them eat food. I mean, we get to see him seek and destroy.

    • Totally agree. Radagast is (perhaps not as I originally imagined but) he has been very well differentiated in character than Saruman and Gandalf. I really can’t wait to see all three wizards (hopefully) together in one scene.

Leave a Reply

