My Tolkien Collection: An Introduction

– Nothing to show off, just ‘displaying’ …

At this stage in the blog, with Tolkien Week fast approaching, and after writing (and blabbing to myself) about the books, analyzing images and films  and retelling my discovery of such a hobby, I thought it the right time for me to guide you through my personal Tolkien-centric collection.

Suffice to say, as the title suggests, I will give just a quick overview of the books I have collected throughout the years …

Firstly, let’s start off with a still image of my bookcase – for the sake of being original, let’s call it:  The Bookcase!

The Bookcase

Compared to some really dedicated and serious collectors, this is but a small book stall situated in the corner of a large library. For others, it might seem ‘modestly large’.

If you’re thinking: “Damn! This guy must be well off!” – you’re completely off the mark …

I’m just a normal human being with a normal job, who puts aside a small amount of his monthly earnings for precisely this reason.

I didn’t buy these books all in one day. It took me years to slowly build up my collection as it currently stands.

(Note: You might spot the odd C.S. Lewis book or Dickens tome in there – yes, they’re part of my collection and the reasons for this will be given in a future post …)

After acquiring both ‘The Silmarillion’ and ‘The Lord of the Rings’ paperbacks sometime in 2005, I focused my attention on collecting and as the years went by, I saved some money and bought a book or two, saved some more and bought something else.

8 years later, here I am.

With regards to collecting, I’m not one of those who has multiple copies of the same edition of ‘The Hobbit’, or owns every copy of ‘The Lord of the Rings’ since 1955 – though one day, who knows? I might be headed that way.

For now, my primary interest is to collect Deluxe editions or general hardbacks of Tolkien’s works – going beyond just those centered around Middle-earth, focusing also on his short stories and critical essay books.

I also own a number of books on the author himself, mainly for academic and research purposes rather than for collecting.

Naturally, being also a fan of the films, I have a number of volumes and items specifically related to ‘The Lord of the Rings’ Trilogy and have recently begun doing the same thing with ‘The Hobbit’.

I’ve managed to compile a rough list of all the books I own and have included those associated with the films and other subjects which are Tolkien-oriented in some way or another.

Books by J.R.R. Tolkien

Special

– The Silmarillion (UK 1st edition, 1st impression, hardback)

Hardbacks/Deluxe Editions

– The J.R.R. Tolkien Collection (Slipcase Hardback Deluxe Edition)

– The Hobbit

– The Lord of the Rings

– The Silmarillion

– The Children of Húrin

– The Children of Húrin (Super Deluxe Limited Edition – No. 455 of 500)

– Unfinished Tales (Classic Hardback Edition)

– The Hobbit (75th Anniversary Edition – Classic Hardback edition)

– The Fellowship of the Ring  (50th Anniversary – Classic Hardback edition)

– The Two Towers (50th Anniversary – Classic Hardback edition)

– The Return of the King (50th Anniversary – Classic Hardback edition)

– Tales from the Perilous Realm (Deluxe edition)

– The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún (Deluxe edition)

– The Fall of Arthur (Deluxe edition)

– The History of Middle-earth in 3 volumes (hardback edition)

– The Children of Húrin (hardback, 1st edition)

– The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún (hardback, 1st edition)

– The Fall of Arthur (hardback, 1st edition)

– Tales from the Perilous Realm (hardback)

– Bilbo’s Last Song (hardback)

– Mr. Bliss (hardback)

– Tolkien: The Road goes ever on (hardback)

– Letters from Father Christmas (hardback)

Paperbacks

– The Silmarillion

– The Hobbit

– The Fellowship of the Ring

– The Two Towers

– The Return of the King

– Unfinished Tales

– The Children of Húrin

– The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún

– The History of Middle-earth (13 volumes) 

– Tales from the Perilous Realm

– Tree and Leaf

– Sir Gawain and the Green Knight

– Finn and Hengest

– The Monsters and the Critics

Books by other authors

Hardbacks/Deluxe Editions

– The Art of the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (75th Anniversary slipcased edition)

– J.R.R. Tolkien: Artist and Illustrator (hardback)

– The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and Guide (2-volume slipcased edition)

– Tolkien on Fairy-stories (hardback)

– The Complete Guide to Middle-earth (hardback)

– The Annotated Hobbit (hardback)

– The Maps of Tolkien’s Middle-earth (slipcase edition)

Paperbacks

– The History of the Hobbit: Parts I & II

– The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien

– The Road to Middle-earth

– Tolkien: Author of the Century

– Tolkien’s Gedling – 1914

– The Lord of the Rings: A Reader’s Companion

– The Complete Tolkien Companion

– J.R.R. Tolkien: A Biography

– The Inklings

– Tolkien and the Great War

– Tolkien, Race and Cultural History

– Arda Reconstructed

– A Question of Time; J.R.R. Tolkien’s Road to Faërie

– A Gateway to Sindarin

– Green Suns and Faërie

– Roots and Branches

Film-related books

– The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide 

– The Lord of the Rings: The Making of the Movie Trilogy 

– The Lord of the Rings: Weapons and Warfare

– The Hobbit An Unexpected Journey: Official Movie Guide

– The Hobbit An Unexpected Journey: Visual Companion

– The Lord of the Rings The Fellowship of the Ring: Visual Companion 

– The Lord of the Rings The Two Towers: Visual Companion 

– The Lord of the Rings The Return of the King: Visual Companion 

– The Art of the Lord of the Rings 

– The Lord of the Films 

—————–

Phew!

So after that general introduction, I shall soon be posting a few articles analyzing each section of ‘The Bookcase’, going briefly into the types of book (or items) and giving a quick review of them.

That’s it for now … talk to you soon!

31 thoughts on “My Tolkien Collection: An Introduction

    • Hehe thanks! 🙂 Any collection, is not based on the number of books but the sentimental/emotional value it holds 😉 … if ever you need help in starting your collection, just let me know and I’ll give whatever little advice I can …

  1. […] My Tolkien Collection: An Introduction (atolkienistperspective.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] My Tolkien Collection: An Introduction (atolkienistperspective.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I’m impressed and a little bit jealous. From my perspective you must be “rich” in order to get so many of these books in eight years! But then, I’m still a student who have mostly lived on loaned money and basically had no extra income until 2014. I’m finally able to buy The Complete History of Middle Earth thanks to that I got enough money for christmas and my birthday this december. 🙂 So that will be a major piece to my collection! I’m trying to get english copies of the books that basically look good together in the bookshelves, but then I also have the swedish copies of the essentials: the hobbit, silmarillion, the one ring trilogy and a collection with short stories. 🙂

    • Trust me Lisa, I’m far from rich!

      Throughout these eight/nine years I’ve been studying and working; and whilst paying for all the expenses needed to live as normal a life as possible, I’ve been saving some money to the side with the goal of acquiring books like these.

      It takes time (… and loads of patience); in my case, I also spend ages decided whether to go ahead and buy something …

      • I do trust you on that. Having a job can make quite a huge difference between being able to save or buy anything at all was my point and that can be seen as “rich” from one perspective even though that actually is not the case because we all have different living expences. Since I’ve been collecting for pretty much as long as you I know about the patience part. It can be really annoying that while you’re saving up to buy a certain copy – it runs out before you can buy it.

  4. I came across a book on the internet called the tale of Gondolin. It seems to be some sort of editing into a longer story of the fall of Gondolin ala Children of Hurin. But it is done by someone named Alex Lewis. Curious to know if you have ever heard of it or have more information about it

      • Interesting about the Ruins of Osgiliath, but there is not a whole lot of description on what the book is about. It sounds like its a collection of short stories, but I can’t tell if there are based on something Toklein wrote or are just pastiches. Also it seem very expensive for something that is not official. Do you own a copy?

Leave a Reply

